180-gram 45 RPM double LP release – Mastered by Ryan K. Smith from an EQ’d tape copy – Pressed at Quality Record Pressings. Pre-order now due July 2024

Available on back-order

SKU: 753088753275 Categories: ,

 INXS Kick


Kick, the sixth and best-selling 1987 studio album by Australian band INXS, has the unmistakable sound personified by its four U.S. Top 10 singles, “New Sensation,” “Never Tear Us Apart,” “Devil Inside” and “Need You Tonight,” — which reached the top of the U.S. Billboard singles charts.

Between 1980 and 1984, INXS released four studio albums and had toured their native country Australia extensively.

With Kick, producer Chris Thomas fused the funk and soul of their previous album The Swing with the mainstream rock of Listen Like Thieves.

In an interview with MusicRadar, Andrew Farriss stated, “The melding of funk and rock was always in our heads. We were very excited about the idea of overlaying two types of songs and genres together.”

Kick showcased a diverse range of musical styles, blending rock, pop, funk, and dance elements.

This versatility appealed to a wide audience, making the album accessible to fans of different genres.

It’s four catchy singles became radio staples and were accompanied by stylish music videos, helping propel INXS to international stardom.

Incorporating elements such as electronic percussion and synthesisers gave Kick a modern sound, helping it stand out, together with Michael Hutchence’s charismatic and sultry vocals that created a strong emotional connection.

All the hallmarks of a top-notch Analogue Productions reissue are here for you to savour:

Mastered directly from an EQ’d tape copy by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound and cut at 45 RPM.

Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Quality Record Pressings, and housed in a tip-on old style gatefold double pocket jacket by Stoughton Printing.

Track List: INXS Kick

Side 1

1. Guns In The Sky

2. New Sensation

3. Devil Inside


Side 2

1. Need You Tonight

2. Mediate

3. The Loved One


Side 3

1. Wild Life

2. Never Tear Us Apart

3. Mystify


Side 4

1. Kick

2. Calling All Nations

3. Tiny Daggers


Analogue Productions

Analogue Productions It was in 1992 that Acoustic Sounds owner Chad Kassem reissued his first Analogue Productions title, Virgil Thompson's The Plow That Broke The Plains, originally on Vanguard. Analogue Productions began as a vehicle for Kassem to license his favorite all-time recordings and reissue them as remastered and as a superior version to the original release. Since its inception AP has reissued hundreds of titles, ranging from classical to folk, pop, rock, blues and jazz. Included in the many highlights of Analogue Productions' history are the Fantasy 45 Jazz Reissues, the Blue Note Reissues, and premium box sets of the music of such legendary acts as The Doors, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Nat "King" Cole and Norah Jones. True to its name, Analogue Productions works with the original analogue master tapes - more than any other reissue label! The result is superior sound - richer, warmer and more lifelike, than digital.

You may also like…