Sarah Vaughan – Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969


The Lost Recordings label travels the world in search of rare or previously unreleased recordings by legendary artists

SKU: Sarah Vaughan - Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969 Categories: , Tags: , , , , ,

Sarah Vaughan – Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969 

(2LP Numbered Limited Edition Mono Version)

Sarah Vaughan - Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969

Numbered limited edition mono version recording

 “This is an absolutely mesmerizing Vaughan performance of 20 smartly chosen and sequenced tunes — some standards in 1969 and some then new and now standards — intimately mic’d that puts her startlingly and transparently in front of you between the speakers. ,,, the credits (read) cut by Kevin Gray using the original master tapes, lacquers processed at QRP and pressed in Germany (at Optimal) on 180-gram vinyl. And that’s how it sounds! Highly recommended.” — Music = 10/11; Sound = 9/11 — Michael Fremer,

 “Sarah Vaughan had one of the magnificent voices of the 20th century, and she put it through extraordinary paces. Then she might turn around and swing a show tune with a light touch. She could do both and everything in between.” — Kevin Whitehead, for NPR’s Fresh Air.


It is at a very special moment in Sarah Vaughan’s life that this double recital, recorded on November 9, 1969 at the Berlin Philharmonie, takes place.

To everyone’s astonishment, this small, clumsy 45-year-old silhouette will sing that evening one of the most masterful stage performances of her career that could be captured by a recording.

In almost two hours, she will silence all reticence by proving how much her approach to music remains eminently topical.

Surrounded with an elegance as discreet as it is stimulating by a trio that is a past master in the art of understatement, free of mannerisms, still as virtuosic as ever, developing her vocal technique to the highest degree throughout her incredible range, between naturalness and sophistication, simplicity and refinement,

Sarah Vaughan is astonishing.

Sarah Vaughan resolutely favours sentimental melodies, making her warm, supple, suave and swinging voice the ultra-sensitive seismograph of the whole range of mixed feelings.

The Lost Recordings label travels the world in search of rare or previously unreleased recordings by legendary artists. Using a unique restoration process, these priceless pieces of musical heritage are brought back to life.

 TRACKS Sarah Vaughan – Live At The Berlin Philharmonie 1969 

Side A

            1. A Lot of Livin’ to Do

2. And I Love Him

3. Alfie

4. On a Clear Day

5. Passing Strangers

Side B

1. Misty

2. I Cried for You

3. My Funny Valentine

4. All of Me

5. Tenderly

Side C

            1. Fly Me to the Moon

2. Time After Time

3. The Trolley Song

4. By the Time I Get to Phoenix

5. The Sweetest Sound

Side D

1. Polka Dots and Moonbeams

2. Day In, Day Out

3. What Now, My Love

4. I Had a Ball

5. Didn’t We






In the world of sound, there is a striking paradox:

While Music has never been so accessible in terms of volume, the quality of the sound itself, and the way technologies manage to restitute it, remains questionable.

The purity and thousands of details that make music what it is, continue to elude us.

Devialet was born in 2007, as a response to that very issue.

Their goal: making it possible for a larger number of people to listen to perfectly restituted sound using everyday sound devices. Simple enough, come to think of it!

All their teams are hard at work, turning an insane ambition into an extremely concrete reality.

Step by step, we have sparked a real technological revolution in the audio world that got in motion thanks to some radical innovations.

Since their creation, they have registered 200+ patents.

Devialet’s DNA finds its source in the influence of philosophers from the Enlightenment era.

theirr name is a reference to engineer Guillaume Vialet, a companion of Diderot and contributor to the French Encyclopedia. Vialet is widely known as one the intellectuals who, through their intellectual, cultural and scientific commitment, contributed to the betterment of the world.

The Lost Recordings

Their epic journey began with Fondamenta, a record label that shares their passion for adventure, and a crazy bet: to see if they could unearth legendary lost recordings that had never been released. And bring them back to life.

It took a team of highly skilled sound archaeologists over a year to find the first legendary recordings, buried in the immensity of the world’s sound archives.

Using their Expert technology, Fondamenta developed Phoenix Mastering®, a unique audio excavation process designed to recover the full richness of analogue tapes.

The Lost Recordings started to take shape.