Jaco Pastorius – Truth, Liberty & Soul


AAA Audiophile 200g 45rpm Triple Disc LP – Sourced from First Generation Analogue Recordings without Any Digital Corruption. Pre-order now due April 2024

Available on back-order

SKU: 762765868881 Categories: ,

Jaco Pastorius – Truth, Liberty & Soul

Jaco Pastorius - Truth, Liberty & Soul

Sound Restoration by George Klabin & Fran Gala

2xHD Label

Cut All Analogue at Bernie Grundman Mastering on Tube Cutting Equipment

There have been many guitar gods, but there’s never been an electric bassist as deified as Jaco Pastorius. – Michael J. Agovino

This live album by Jaco Pastorius and the Word-of-Mouth Big Band, featuring harmonica virtuoso Toots Thielemans as special guest, was recorded in analog 24 tracks by the Record Plant mobile truck at Avery Fisher Hall in NYC on June 27, 1982, as part of George Wein’s Kool Jazz Festival.

This Deluxe 45rpm 200g edition is the first one to be mastered from the original 2 track master tapes that were found some 30 years later (the previous digital download versions were released from a digital remix of the 24 tracks). What we have here is the direct copy of the original pure analogue 2 track mix.

The brightest star in the electric bass firmament, Jaco Pastorius burst onto the national scene in 1976 with his audacious self-titled album on Columbia Records, featuring a line-up of top jazz musicians.

With his extraordinary fretless electric bass playing as the centerpiece, Jaco Pastorius created an immediate sensation with the public and the media.

His signature approach employed Latin-influenced funk, lyrical solos on fretless bass, bass chords, and innovative use of harmonics.

In Jaco’s work with Weather Report and beyond, the self-described “greatest bass player in the world” (an assessment shared with virtually the entire music world) established a new identity and role for his instrument and became the torch-bearer for a new way of playing both technically and conceptually.

But behind it all was an ever present R&B and Latin-influenced groove and a screaming rock-‘n’-roll attitude that he refined and incorporated into sophisticated jazz harmonic structures.

In addition to his extraordinary virtuosity, Jaco was also developing into an accomplished and sophisticated composer and arranger and those talents are gloriously on display on this album.

The 3-time Grammy Award nominee was inducted into the Down Beat Jazz Hall of Fame in 1988, one of only seven bassists so honoured (and the only electric bassist).

His legacy as a bass innovator continues to this day, more than 30 years after his untimely death in 1987.


Jaco Pastorius – bass, vocals

Bob Mintzer – tenor sax, soprano sax, bass clarinet

Randy Brecker – trumpet

Othello Molineaux – steel drums

Don Alias – percussion

Peter Erskine – drums

Bob Stein – alto saxophone

Lou Marini – tenor saxophone

Frank Wess – tenor saxophone

Howard Johnson – baritone saxophone

Randy Emerick – baritone saxophone

Alan Rubin – trumpet

Lou Soloff – trumpet

Jon Faddis – trumpet

Ron Tooley – trumpet

Kenny Faulk – trumpet

David Taylor – trombone

Jim Pugh – trombone

Wayne Andre – trombone

John Clark – French horn

Peter Gordon – French horn

David Bargeron – tuba

Toots Thielemans – harmonica

Track List; Jaco Pastorius – Truth, Liberty & Soul

 Side A:


Side B:

Sophisticated Lady

Fannie May

Side C:

Okonkolé Y Trompa

Side D:

Reza / Giant Steps

Side E:

Mr. Fonebone

Side F:

Soul Intro / The Chicken



The most musical high-resolution label

You may also like…